Update you browser

For the best experience, we recommend you update your browser. Visit our accessibility page for a list of supported browsers. Alternatively, you can continue using your current browser by closing this message.

Key details


  • External (UK)
  • FOLD London, Gillian House, Stephenson Street, London, E16 4SA


  • Free

Who could attend

  • Everyone


  • Live Performance

Responding to the late British artist and theorist Ian White’s performances in nightclubs, One Time Only (O.T.O) is an event using the space of the nightclub to activate the intersections between music and the moving image.

The event is on 11 May from 7pm–1am taking place at FOLD London, Gillian House, Stephenson Street, London, E16 4SA.

Maria Mahfooz, 25 bus to ilford, digital video, 2023

Image credit: Maria Mahfooz, '25 bus to ilford' (2023) digital video.

New commissions by artists Tarzan KingOfTheJungle, Anna Clegg and Adam Farah-Saad, alongside existing work by Ahaad Alamoudi and David Hall, will use media including film, video-jockeying and lighting to unravel how music videos shape, and are shaped by, our digital, geographical and personal identities. These live works will be presented as a club night at FOLD, supported by Futur.Shock. with DJ sets by HabibTati and Hellikisto, created in conversation with the artists. The project themes are also explored in works commissioned for social media by Hugo Hutchins and Maria Mahfooz and in a free online, interactive publication featuring critical essays, speculative writing and interviews.

Free tickets to O.T.O are available for RCA students and staff and can be booked here. Tickets must be booked by 4 May using an @rca.ac.uk email address. Tickets for the general public, alongside more information about the project can be found at otolondon.live.

Contributors: Ahaad Alamoudi, Anna Clegg, Adam Farah-Saad, Hugo Hutchins, Maria Mahfooz, Tarzan KingOfTheJungle and DJ sets by HabibTati and Hellikisto

MA Curators: Malak Alhajri, Lewis G. Burton, Guanchun Chen, David Hall, Elizabeth Langton, Sukii Lu, Siavash Minoukadeh, Ambre Panhard, Nikki Ramirez and Anqi Zhang.

In partnership with LUX, FOLD and Futur.Shock and supported by Arts Council England