Update you browser

For the best experience, we recommend you update your browser. Visit our accessibility page for a list of supported browsers. Alternatively, you can continue using your current browser by closing this message.

The primary responsibilities of the Senate are:

  1. Directing, regulating and promoting the teaching and research of the College
  2. Discussing matters of strategic importance for learning, teaching and research development
  3. Maintaining the quality and standards of the College's awards and reporting on the same to the Council
  4. Setting the academic regulatory framework and providing assurance to the Council on the effectiveness of it
  5. Regulating the conduct of students of the College
  6. Setting the high level policy and strategy on the advice and recommendation of the Senate committees working within the strategic direction contained within the College's Strategic Plan approved by Council and its underlying strategies
  7. Recommending or reporting to the Council as it may require.


Chair: President and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Christoph Lindner
Secretary: Pro Vice-Chancellor, Education, Corinne Smith
Co-secretary: Head of Quality Assurance and Enhancement, Dr Lucy Dawkins


Professor Christoph Lindner, President and Vice-Chancellor

Professsor Naren Barfield, Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Heather Akif, Chief Operating Officer

Dr Emma Wakelin, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research & Innovation

Deans of Schools                                   

Professor Paul Anderson

Kerry Curtis

Dr Adrian Lahoud

Professor Ken Neil

Director of the Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design

Rama Gheerawo

CIO and Director of Digital and Technical Services

Jacqui Lipinski

Elected members

One Head of Programme from each School                                     

Architecture, Beth Hughes

Arts & Humanities, Professor Victoria Walsh

Communication, Tom Simmons

Design, Professor Gareth Louden

Senior Member of academic staff

Dr Sina Sareh

Three Tutors/Senior Tutors elected by the Academic Staff

Professor Sam Jacoby
Dr Shehnaz Sutterwalla
Dr Carolina Ramirez-Figueroa

One member of the Research Staff (Senior Research Fellow, Research Fellow or Research Assistant) elected by the Research Staff

Dr Artur Mausbach 

One member of the Technical Staff elected by the Technical Staff 

Sharon Lee

One member of the Non-Academic Staff elected by the Non-Academic Staff

Dieudonne Burrows

Presidents of the Students' Union, elected by the students 

Kimberly Burrows
Thomas Cury                                                                      

In attendance

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Corinne Smith 
Academic Registrar, Elizabeth Harris
Chief Financial Officer, Amanda White
Deputy Director of Academic Development, Chris Mitchell
Head of Quality Assurance and Enhancement, Lucy Dawkins


This committee approves the Academic Appeals Policy, Academic Misconduct Policy, Admissions Policy, Extenuating Circumstances Policy, Leave of Absence Policy, Library Admission Policy, Referral Policy, Student Complaints Policy, Student Misconduct Policy and Student Refund Policy.

Frequency of meetings

Three per year.

Contact us

For more information or to provide feedback please email

Email us at
[email protected]
RCA Kensington cafe Contact us.jpg