Please upgrade your browser

For the best experience, you should upgrade your browser. Visit our accessibility page to view a list of supported browsers along with links to download the latest version.

Research Student Supervisors

MPhil/PhD Degrees

This page lists current supervisors, with links to their research profiles. These give an idea of the key areas of research that are covered at the RCA. If there is a particular member of staff that you are interested in working with, then please email the relevant School Administrator. While we offer relevant supervisory expertise for all of our research students, we cannot guarantee that you will be allocated your preferred supervisor. However, all academic staff named in these lists contribute to research seminars and lectures, and there will be opportunities to seek advice from staff beyond your supervisory team as appropriate.

See MPhil/PhD Application Process for more information on the application process and writing a research proposal.

Vice-Chancellor's Office

Naren Barfield

The Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design

Dr Jo-Anne Bichard
Rama Gheerawo
Dr Chris McGinley
Professor Jeremy Myerson

Intelligent Mobility Design Centre

Professor Dale Harrow
Dr Cyriel Diels
Professor Stephen Boyd Davis
Dr Artur Mausbach
Dr Jiayu (Zoe) Wu

Material Science Research Centre

Professor Sharon Baurley
Dr Bruna Petreca

School of Architecture

Professor Graeme Brooker
Dr Mark Campbell
Professor Tarsha Finney
Dr Maria Shéhérazade Giudici
Dr Jon Goodbun
Dr Sam Jacoby
Dr Adam Kaasa
Dr Adrian Lahoud
Dr Godofredo Pereira 

Find out more about MPhil/PhD degrees in Architecture.

School of Arts & Humanities

Research Lead: Professor Rebecca Fortnum

Dr Jesse Ash
Dr James Ryan (V&A)
Felicity Aylieff
Jonathan Boyd
Dr Heike Brachlow
Mel Brimfield 
Dr Steve Brown
Dr Sarah Cheang
Dr Nicky Coutts
Dr Ben Cranfield 
Michaela Crimmin
Denise de Cordova
Kate Davies
Anne Duffau
Dr Chantal Faust
Professor Rebecca Fortnum
Pamela Golden
Professor Johnny Golding
Graham Hudson
Dr Mel Jackson
Sarah Jones 
Dr Melanie Jordan
Dr Jaspar Joseph-Lester

Dr Josie Kane
Professor Peter Kennard
Dr Pil Kollectiv
Dr Emily LaBarge
Rut Blees Luxemburg
Bob Matthews
Jonathan Miles
Jeremy Millar
Dr Peter Oakley
Dr James Ryan (V&A)
Sally O'Reilly
Dr Tim O'Riley
Professor Olivier Richon
Michael Rowe
Dr Aura Satz
Tai Shani
John Slyce
Alexandria Smith
Sarah Staton
Professor Jo Stockham
Dr Spike Sweeting (V&A)
Emma Talbot
Dr Joanne Tatham 
Finlay Taylor
Dr Sarah Teasley 
Edward Thomasson
Milly Thompson 
Dr Simona Valeriani (V&A)
Professor Victoria Walsh
Dr Grant Watson
Hermione Wiltshire

Find out more about MPhil/PhD degree Arts & Humanities.

School of Communication

Research Lead: Professor Teal Triggs

Nicky Hamlyn
Anne Howeson
Joe King
Rathna Ramanathan 
Tom Simmons
Teal Triggs
Kevin Walker

Find out more about MPhil/PhD degrees in Communication.

School of Design

MPhil and PhD applicants are encouraged to view the profiles of the School of Design specialist subject areas and potential supervisors and then email [email protected] with a research proposal prior to application. Please make sure when contacting us and applying to state the subject area and name of the potential supervisor(s). 

Research administrator: [email protected]

Design Products

Dr Rob Philips

Global Innovation Design

Dr John Stevens


Zowie Broach
Susan Postlethwaite
Tristan Webber

Innovation Design Engineering

Professor Ashley Hall
Dr Chang Hee Lee
Dr Bjorn Sommer

Intelligent Mobility

Professor Dale Harrow
Dr Chris Thorpe


Dr Sina Sareh

Service Design

Dr Nick de Leon
Dr Qian Sun


Professor Clare Johnston
Dr Fiona Curran
Flora McLean
Jemma Ooi
Dr Sara Robertson
Freddie Robins
Lynn Tandler
Anne Toomey
Dr Elif Ozden Yenigun

Virtual Reality & Augmented Reality

Professor Paul Anderson

Find out more about MPhil/PhD degrees in Design.


School of Architecture:
[email protected]

School of Arts and Humanities
[email protected]

School of Communication
[email protected]

School of Design
[email protected]

Intelligent Mobility Design Centre
[email protected]

Material Science Research Centre
[email protected]

The Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design
[email protected]