Update you browser

For the best experience, we recommend you update your browser. Visit our accessibility page for a list of supported browsers. Alternatively, you can continue using your current browser by closing this message.

The Tyre Collective

Key details


  • 17 September 2020


  • RCA

Read time

  • 1 minute

The team, who first collaborated on their project whilst studying for our MA/MSc Innovation Design Engineering, will now go through to the final round James Dyson Award for the international prize of £30,000 – for which there will be two winners this year.

The James Dyson Award is an international design award that celebrates, encourages and inspires the next generation of design engineers. It's open to current and recent design engineering students, and is run by the James Dyson Foundation. The brief for the award is simple – invent something that solves a problem. The Tyre Collective’s clever device does just this, catching tyre wear pollutants as vehicles are moving and preventing 60% of these airborne particles from escaping into the air we breathe.

Tyre wear particles account for up to 50% of PM2.5 emission from road transport and, with technology closing in on gas emissions, the Tyre Collective believe that the future of vehicle pollution will ‘not come from the tailpipe, but from tyres.’ Their device is the first of its kind in the world and was profiled earlier this year in the Evening Standard and on Design Boom. The team is made up of Hanson Cheng, Hugo Richardson, Siobhan Anderson and Deepak Mallya who first exhibited their invention at the RCA Work-in-progress show earlier this year.

“We are excited to have the backing of such a prestigious award and it gave us the validation and confidence that our design can truly make an impact. We will continue developing the project at InnovationRCA and hope to pilot test it on a vehicle soon. We wanted to thank all the tutors and staff at RCA and Imperial College who have supported us through this journey!”

The Tyre Collective

Update: On 19 November 2020, the Tyre Collective were announced by Dyson as the official runners-up for the International James Dyson Award.

Learn more about MA/MSc Innovation Design Engineering and how to apply.