Update you browser

For the best experience, we recommend you update your browser. Visit our accessibility page for a list of supported browsers. Alternatively, you can continue using your current browser by closing this message.

Key details


  • 1 January 2022

Read time

  • 2 minutes

Alumni Council

Francesca Amfitheatrof (MA Jewellery & Silversmithing, 1993)

Frank H Auerbach (ARCA Diploma Class I Painting,1955)

Christopher Bailey MBE (MA Fashion Womenswear, 1994)

Tim Brown CBE (MA Industrial Design, 1987)

David Constantine MBE (MDES Computer Related Design,1990)

Sir James Dyson CBE, OM (MDes Furniture, 1971)

Tracey Emin CBE (MA Painting, 1989)

Lady Hamlyn (DesRCA Diploma Fashion, 1955)

Thomas Heatherwick CBE (MA Furniture, 1994)

David Hockney OM CH RA (ARCA Diploma Class I Painting, 1962)

Alison Jackson (MA Photography, 1999)

Asif Kapadia (MA Film & Television, 1997)

Orla Kiely OBE (MA Knitted Textiles, 1992)

Professor Gerry McGovern (MA Vehicle Design, 1978)

Professor Dame Magdalene Odundo OBE (MA Ceramics & Glass, 1982)

Dame Zandra Rhodes DBE (DesRCA Diploma Class in Textile Design, 1965)

Peter Schreyer (MA Vehicle Design, 1980)

Sir Ridley Scott (ARCA Diploma Graphic Design, 1961)

Emma J Shipley (MA Textiles, 2011)

Clare Waight Keller (MA Fashion Knitwear, 1993)


RCA USA – with the support of RCA students, alumni and supporters in the US – helps achieve international standards of excellence in postgraduate education for artists and designers which closely aligns with the RCA and its long history.

RCAUSA is a 501(c)(3) – a registered charity based in the USA. Any donations to the RCA from the USA can go through RCAUSA and are therefore tax exempt RCAUSA is independent of, but is dedicated to, the RCA.

The board is committed to a range of activity throughout the year including hosting RCA and RCAUSA alumni events on the East Coast and the West Coast, and arranging meetings between RCA staff, student and prominent alumni when travelling across the USA.

The board of directors are all leaders in their respective fields of art and design:

  • Chair & President - Peter Russell-Clarke (MA Industrial Design, 1993) | Apple Industrial Designer
  • Deputy Chair - Lady Grainge | Executive, entrepreneur, and philanthropist
  • Treasurer - Tony Jones | President, Kansas City Art Institute
  • Director - Francesca Amfitheatrof (MA Jewellery & Silversmithing, 1993) | Artistic Director of Jewellery and Watches at Louis Vuitton
  • Director - Caroline Baumann | Independent Design Leader and Cultural Consultant
  • Director - Alastair Curtis (MA Industrial Design Engineering, 1992) | Chief Design Officer at Logitech
  • Director - Dr Paul Thompson | RCA Vice-Chancellor
  • Executive Director - Helen Protheroe | RCA Director of Development & Alumni Relations
  • Ex-Officio Officer - Shaun Fradd | RCA Head of Major Gifts

RCAUSA is committed to:

  • Hosting RCA and RCAUSA annual alumni events in the East Coast and the West Coast
  • Presenting virtual events
  • Keeping in touch with USA alumni via regular newsletters
  • Frequent interaction with alumni social media
  • One-on-one meetings between relevant RCA staff and/or RCAUSA board members and prominent alumni when in the area.