Please upgrade your browser

For the best experience, you should upgrade your browser. Visit our accessibility page to view a list of supported browsers along with links to download the latest version.

ArcInTex ETN

Funded by H2020-MSCA-ITN

The ArcInTex European Training Network (ETN) aims to strengthen the foundations of design for more sustainable forms of living by connecting architecture, interaction design and textiles.   

RCA Project Team:

Scientist in ChargeProfessor Clare Johnston
SupervisorDr Jo-Anne Bichard
SupervisorIan Higgins
2nd Supervisor: Anne Toomey
Early Stage ResearcherAna Piñeyro
Early Stage ResearcherBastian Beyer
Early Stage Researcher: Marina Castán
Participant ContactDr Peter Oakley

The ArcInTex ETN project aims to develop design for more sustainable forms of future living by exploring the potential of adaptive and responsive, personal and communal environments that connect the scales of the body, the interior and the building.

The project’s fifteen early stage researchers (or ESRs) were selected in 2015 from applicants across the world, working in the disciplines of architecture, design and textiles. All the ESRs are registered as PhD candidates at one of the consortium partners. The RCA ESRs are Ana Piñeyro, Marina Castan and Bastian Beyer.

This unique opportunity enables ESRs to take experimental research projects from initial idea to scaled-up models and prototypes ready to exhibit and test. Through the combination of in-depth specialisation, collaborative project work, and private sector secondments, the programme aims to train individuals and teams ready to take on complex challenges in academic design education, research or development work in the private sector.

For current Collaborative Projects and Research Activities please see the ArcInTex Blog.

Please note, ArcInTex ETN is no longer accepting new applicants for the RCA, as all positions were filled in 2015.


University of Borås, Sweden
Royal College of Art, United Kingdom
Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom   
Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Vilnius Academy of Arts, Lithuania
The Berlin University of the Arts, Germany
Philips, The Netherlands
AB Ludvig Svensson, Sweden


Audejas UAB, Lithuania
Heatherwick Studio, United Kingdom
Haworth Tompkins, United Kingdom