Please upgrade your browser

For the best experience, you should upgrade your browser. Visit our accessibility page to view a list of supported browsers along with links to download the latest version.


The Helen Hamlyn Design Awards 2010
The Helen Hamlyn Design Awards, is a competition that recognises outstanding people-centred design ideas by graduating students of the Royal College of Art.

Awards were given in relation to each of the Centre's three main research themes - inclusive design, workplace design and design for patient safety. There were also two special prize given personally by Helen Hamlyn. Royal College of Art professors and heads of department nominated entrants.

There were five awards and an additional award, new this year, for Helen Hamlyn Alumni:

  1. Age UK Award for Inclusive Design
    Take me Home, Ed Rose, RCA Innovation Design Engineering (Winner)

  2. Technology Strategy Board Design Award for Independent Living
    Remote Control, Tom Stables, RCA Design Products (Winner)

  3. Clearblue Design award for Healthcare and Patient Safety
    Super Prosthetics, Experiments in Armwear, Becky Pilditch, RCA Innovation Design Engineering (Winner)

  4. GMW Design Award for Working Life
    Desklamp/projector, Jamie Tunnard, RCA Design Products (Joint Winner)
    Foyerism, Lucy Wood, RCA Architecture (Joint Winner)

  5. Helen Hamlyn Design Award for Creativity
    Textile Props for Multi-sensory Environments, Katie Gaudion, RCA Textiles (Winner)
    I Don't Like Jabs, Florie Salnot, RCA Design Products (Highly Commended)

  6. Helen Hamlyn Design Award for Alumni
    Scooterkit, Ben Wilson, Design Products Graduate 2001, Helen Hamlyn Research Associate 2002 (Winner)

See winning projects here 

Judging Panel

  • Prof Jeremy Myerson (Chair) - Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design
  • Brian Firth - Clearblue
  • Rama Gheerawo - Helen Hamlyn Centre
  • James Goodwin - AgeUK
  • Peter Gyllan - Danmarks Designskole
  • Helen Hamlyn - Helen Hamlyn Trust
  • Tim Hardingham - GMW
  • Jackie Marshall-Cyrus - Technology Strategy Board
  • Beverley Norris - NPSA
  • Gregor Timlin - Helen Hamlyn Centre
  • Matthew White - Design Consultant