Please upgrade your browser

For the best experience, you should upgrade your browser. Visit our accessibility page to view a list of supported browsers along with links to download the latest version.

Convocation 2015

The Royal College of Art's Convocation ceremony 2015 was filmed live at London's Royal Albert Hall, at 11am on Friday 3 July.

Experience again the generosity, brave heels, perilous punning, spangly tops, wobbly trumpeting, gratitude, baseball caps and extraordinary respect for creativity that defined this year's ceremony, as 646 MA, MPhil and PhD students received their degrees from Provost Sir James Dyson.

Royal College of Art Honorands are recognised for their significant contribution to culture and industry, both internationally and in the UK. Leading figures from the spheres of fine art, film, fashion, textiles, the applied arts, curation and the cultural sector are amongst those honoured by the College in recognition of their achievements this year.

Chief among the honorands this year are Sir Ridley Scott and Luc Tuymens, who will receive Honorary Doctorates at the  Convocation ceremony.

Sir Neil Cossons OBE FSA FMA, former Pro-Provost and Chairman of Council of the Royal College of Art from 2007 until 2015 is appointed Senior Fellow. 

Those receiving Honorary Fellowships include Simon Foxton, stylist and Visiting Professor; Sarah Griffin, curator; Peter Longfellow, former Metalwork technician; Colum Lowe, former Head of Design for the National Patient Safety Agency, Sarah Miller, former Council member; Rohan Silva, former Senior Policy Adviser to the Prime Minister on Technology; and Aitor Throup, Creative Director of G-Star and RCA alumnus.