Please upgrade your browser

For the best experience, you should upgrade your browser. Visit our accessibility page to view a list of supported browsers along with links to download the latest version.


The Council is the governing body of the College responsible for all matters concerning property and finance, administrative policy, overall strategy and any issues affecting the general welfare of the College.

All the most senior appointments within the College are ultimately made by the Council;  Chancellor, Chair of Council, the Vice-Chancellor and Deputy-Vice-Chancellor and Provost.


Ex Officio

Chair and Pro-Chancellor, Baroness Rebuck DBE (from 1 March 1999 to 28 February 2022) 

The Vice-ChancellorDr Paul Thompson (from 1 September 2009– )

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor and ProvostProfessor Naren Barfield (from 1 August 2011–)

Co-President of the Students' Union , Chenyu Shen (from 1 August 2020 to 31 July 2021)

Independent Members 

Michael Birshan (from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021)

Professor Rachel Cooper OBE (1 April 2016 to 31 March 2022)

Jennifer Duvalier (from 1 May 2016 to 30 April 2022)

Mike Forster (from 1 March 2017 to 29 February 2023)

Dr Tristram Hunt (from 1 March 2017 to 29 February 2023)

Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon MBE (from 1 April 2019 to March 31 2022)

Alan Leibowitz (from 1 March 2015 to 30 November 2021)

Caragh Merrick (from 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2021)

Patrick Plant (from 1 May 2016 to 30 April 2022)

Richard Petrie (from 1 March 2018 to 28 February 2021)

Dr Sigrid Rausing (1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021)

Sudhir Singh (15 June 2020 to 14 June 2023)

Tom Van Oss (from 1 November 2016 to 31 October 2022)

Ed Williams (from 1 February 2016 to 31 January 2022)

Staff Members

Professor Paul Anderson (from 1 August 2017 to 31 July 2022)

Professor Graeme Brooker (from 1 August 2017 to 31 July 2022)

Dr Emma Wakelin (from 1 November 2018 to 31 July 2022)

Rama Gheerawo (from 30 October 2019 until 31 July 2022)

Student Member

Aleksandra Stanek, Co-President of the Students' Union  (from 1 August 2020 to 31 July 2021)

In Attendance

College Secretary, Jocelyn Prudence

Executive Director of Transformation and Delivery, Dr Philip Harvey

Director of Finance, Amanda White 

Governance Officer, Lucy Quarry

Council Statement of Primary Responsibilities

  1. To approve the mission and strategic vision of the College, the Strategic Plan (including long-term academic and business plans and key performance indicators), and to ensure that these meet the interests of stakeholders
  2. To ensure that processes are in place to monitor and evaluate the performance and effectiveness of the College against the Strategic Plan and approved key performance indicators, which should be – where possible and appropriate – benchmarked against other comparable institutions
  3. To delegate authority to the Vice-Chancellor, as chief executive, for the academic, corporate, financial, estate and human resource management of the institution within the terms of the Strategic Plan and the budget as agreed by Council. And to establish and keep under regular review the policies, procedures and limits within such management functions as shall be undertaken by and under the authority of the Vice-Chancellor
  4. To ensure the establishment and monitoring of systems of control and accountability, including financial and operational controls and risk assessment and procedures for handling internal grievances and for managing conflicts of interest
  5. To establish processes to monitor and evaluate the performance and effectiveness of the Council itself
  6. To conduct its business in accordance with best practice in HE corporate governance and with the principles of public life drawn up by the Committee on Standards in Public Life
  7. To safeguard and promote the good name and values of the College
  8. To appoint and to remove the Vice-Chancellor as chief executive, and to put in place suitable arrangements for monitoring his/her performance
  9. To appoint and to remove the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council, the Vice-Chair of Council, the Treasurer and other senior appointments as determined by Council currently and in the future
  10. To appoint and to remove a secretary to the Council and to ensure that, if the person appointed has managerial responsibilities in the institution, there is an appropriate separation in the lines of accountability
  11. To be the employing authority for all staff in the institution and to be responsible for oversight of the human resources strategy
  12. To be the principal financial and business authority of the College, to ensure compliance with the OfS Memorandum, that proper books of account are kept, to approve the annual budget and financial statements, and to have overall responsibility for the College’s assets, property and estate
  13. To be the College’s legal authority and, as such, to ensure that systems are in place for meeting all the College’s legal obligations, including those arising from contracts, legal commitments made in the College’s name and legal obligations in relation to charity law, equality and diversity and health and safety
  14. To receive assurance that adequate provision has been made to uphold the quality of the student experience
  15. To receive assurance that academic governance is effective
  16. To act as trustee for any property, legacy, endowment, bequest or gift in support of the work and welfare of the College
  17. To ensure that the Students’ Union operates in a fair, democratic, accountable and financially sustainable manner
  18. To ensure that the College’s Charter, Statues and Ordinances are followed at all times and that appropriate advice is available to enable this to happen.


Council approves the Financial Regulations, Gift Acceptance Policy, Strategic Plan, Five Year Financial Plan, Annual Accounts.

Frequency of Meetings

Four per year


As prescribed by the Statutes, a quorum at a meeting of the Council is one-third of the total number of members of which a majority of those present (in person or by virtual means) shall be Independent Members.

For more information or to provide feedback please email 

[email protected]

This page was last updated on 

6 January 2021

This page is reviewed and updated every 12 months.

See all committees