Please upgrade your browser

For the best experience, you should upgrade your browser. Visit our accessibility page to view a list of supported browsers along with links to download the latest version.

College Structure

The academic structure of the College is based on four Schools offering 28 distinct programmes from September 2019, with associated research activities.

The College also has centres that focus on research, business links, innovation, development and enterprise.

The College's academic offer is supported by a number of administrative departments that work to enable and support the work of the College.

Schools and Programmes

College-wide Programmes

Graduate Diploma in Art & Design

School of Architecture

Dean: Dr Adrian Lahoud

City Design 
Environmental Architecture
Interior Design
MRes RCA (Architecture Pathway)

For more information visit the School of Architecture pages.

School of Arts & Humanities

Dean: Professor Ken Neil

Ceramics & Glass
Contemporary Art Practice
Curating Contemporary Art
History of Design
Jewellery & Metal
MRes RCA (Fine Art & Humanities Pathway)

For more information visit the School of Arts & Humanities pages

School of Communication 

Dean: TBA

Digital Direction
Information Experience Design
Visual Communication
MRes RCA (Communication Design Pathway)

For more information visit the School of Communication pages.

School of Design

Dean: Professor Paul Anderson

Design Products
Global Innovation Design
Fashion Menswear
Fashion Womenswear
Innovation Design Engineering
Intelligent Mobility
Service Design 
MRes Healthcare & Design
MRes RCA (Design Pathway)

For more information visit the School of Design pages.


RCA staff and research students specialise in high-quality research in art and design that has substantial impact – in creative, cultural, social and economic terms – as well as global reach. Attracting millions of pounds of funding in research grants and from business and industry collaborations, RCA research spans the Schools of ArchitectureArts & HumanitiesCommunication and Design, as well as a growing number of interdisciplinary research centres:

  • Computer Science Research Centre, undertaking cutting-edge research at the interface between art, design and computer science, exploring areas including robotics, artificial intelligence, augmented and virtual reality, and advanced visualisation and simulation. 
  • Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design an international leader in people-centred and  inclusive design addressing pressing social challenges 
  • Healthcare Innovation Exchange (HELIX) Centre, a collaboration between the RCA and Imperial College London, based in a large NHS hospital in London. The HELIX Centre uses design-led approaches to translate research into innovative solutions addressing frontline healthcare challenges and embedding designers in a clinical environment
  • Intelligent Mobility Design Centre, a multidisciplinary research centre working with major industry partners, including Hyundai-Kia, to explore design-led innovations addressing the future of  transportation design and urban mobility
  • Burberry Material Futures Research Group, applying design-led approaches alongside science, technology and engineering insights to develop innovations in sustainable and smart materials, to transform consumer experiences and advance manufacturing
  • The RCA-IIS Tokyo Design Lab is a research collaboration between the RCA and the University of Tokyo, and brings together creatives, scientists and engineers, working together to develop meaningful and deployable innovations.

Administrative & Support Departments

Departments can be contacted by calling +44 (0)20 7590 4444 or through the following direct email addresses:

Academic Development Office: [email protected]

Buildings & Estates: [email protected]

Catering: [email protected]

Development: [email protected]

Finance: f[email protected]

Information, Learning & Technical Services: [email protected]

Communications & Marketing: [email protected]

Registry: [email protected]

Human Resources: [email protected]

Security: [email protected]

Student Support: [email protected]

FuelRCA[email protected] 

Students' Union: [email protected]

Vice-Chancellor's Office: [email protected]

Student Work
Student Work, 2015
Photographer: Richard Haughton